Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: sulfer water

  1. #1
    Seedling

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    449
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 206/0
    Given: 691/1
    Rep Power
    12

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Question sulfer water

    can i use sulfer water on my plants????????

  2. #2
    Shadbot 4.20 Shadimar's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Cannaba
    Posts
    7,753
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 881/0
    Given: 470/1
    Rep Power
    25


    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Default

    Humans can smell even low concentrations of sulphur in the water so it's a bit of a vague question. The pH of the water should be considered as it is acidic.

    Elemental suplur is used to counter alkaline soils and while it is usually not lacking, deficient plants will usually fade past yellow to paper-white and will green up quickly with epsom salt.

    A carbon filter should remove most of it, should it be an issue.
    ♪♫♪♫♪♪♫♪
    Ceci n'est pas une signature du forum.
    Thank You for using S.h.a.d.i.m.a.r.: the world's most poorly coded chatbot.
    Substantially Humanlike Application Determined Insufficient Mediocre And Relatively annoying.

  3. #3
    Seedling

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    449
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 206/0
    Given: 691/1
    Rep Power
    12

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Default

    thankx 4 the info

  4. #4
    Vegetative Member milkcratejukebox's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    655
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 59/0
    Given: 1/0
    Rep Power
    12

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Default

    the house im currently in has bad water, very sulphuric, i use a Zero Water filter system, its a countertop filter system with 2 cartridges and i can get around 50 gals of filtered water with decent tap water, but with suplhur water i only get around 30 gals per filter setup..the dirtier the water the less gals ya get filtered....

    in hydro, sulphur water was nothin but trouble...PH was always up and down, and nute lock out was always a wonder...


    crate

  5. #5
    Seedling

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    449
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 206/0
    Given: 691/1
    Rep Power
    12

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Cool

    that sucks .

    i hate messing with water.
    shit i dont know i might have to haul water 4 my plants
    how much are those filters???
    im growing in soiless mix coco/pro mix/compost mostly males
    leafs stems and my own additevs
    all tlo.lol ty 4 the input
    Last edited by Husbandnwife420; 10-12-2013 at 01:35 PM. Reason: stoner moment

  6. #6
    Vegetative Member milkcratejukebox's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    655
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 59/0
    Given: 1/0
    Rep Power
    12

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Default

    https://www.zerowater.com/products-accessories ....
    ...this is what i been using for the past 5 years..works great but remember when ya use this system it removes everything, so ya got to add cal/mag, and the nutes ya use must be complete...i get the filters 2 in a box at bed bath and beyond for 29 bux, so around 50 gals of tap city water per 2 filters, divide 50 into 30 thats what ya pay for water....the dirtier the water, the less gals ya get... in my DWC/LST setup, i use 55 gals from seed to harvest...

    crate

  7. #7
    Embryo

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    62
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 19/0
    Given: 0/1
    Rep Power
    7

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Default

    I have 2 wells on my property, no city water here. One is close to 350 Ppm, other is around 200 Ppm, running the water through water softener and RO filter for drinking. Comes out around 40 Ppm out of RO for drinking.

    My garden plants take well water well, for "precious" germinating seeds and seedlings I use a 50/50 mix of RO water and raw well water. Comes out around 150 Ppm, seems that my babies like that.

  8. #8
    Seedling

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    449
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 206/0
    Given: 691/1
    Rep Power
    12

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Default

    yah thers a comuity well in my sub division
    thats an old wind mill butt has nice water
    with a hand pump
    thats wat i will use
    do they freeze in the winter????.

  9. #9
    Vegetative Member milkcratejukebox's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    655
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 59/0
    Given: 1/0
    Rep Power
    12

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Default

    no, too deep to freeze, but ya may have to bring a gal. of water to prime it if it not in constant use.


    crate

  10. #10
    Seedling

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    449
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 206/0
    Given: 691/1
    Rep Power
    12

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Default

    sweet ty.
    and thankz 4 all the help guys.
    im listening lol

  11. #11
    Embryo

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    62
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 19/0
    Given: 0/1
    Rep Power
    7

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by milkcratejukebox View Post
    no, too deep to freeze, but ya may have to bring a gal. of water to prime it if it not in constant use.


    crate
    If the pipe is not thermally insulated above the ground it will surely freeze, since there is no constant flow of water (hand pump)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •